Interactive Bar

Google Services





Log In

Kidsgrove Primary School

Empowering Learners...Growing Minds

Year Group Curriculum

Here in EYFS (Nursery and Reception) we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. The Development Matters document (below) is split into ages and stages via months / age. By the end of Reception, we would aim for our children to be secure within the 40-60 month age band and to be accessing and secure in the Early Learning goals across the curriculum. Through their day to day learning and challenges, they will have also covered a wide range of the aspects visible in Characteristics of Effective Learning. 


We collect evidence throughout the year towards these statements and each child has their work compiled into a learning journey, which you will see during our parents' evenings. 

­čÉ░Our curriculum­čÉ░

There are seven areas of learning that make up our EYFS curriculum. They are split into prime and specific areas; 


Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)

Communication and language (CL) 

Physical development (PD) 



Literacy (L) 

Maths (M) 

Understanding the world (UTW) 

Exploring using media and materials (EUMM) 


We have a wonderful and stimulating learning environment on offer to our children each day, where they are able to access a range of high quality activities to stretch and challenge their imagination and their learning. Our day is structured in such a way that the children access every area of the EYFS curriculum throughout the morning and the afternoon. The continuous provision on offer in the classroom is an extension of the directed adult activities that are taught daily and each of these activities are set up in such a way that the children are able to extend their own learning independently.